knitting, Uncategorized

Knitting, plants and study

Well uni starts on Monday and I didn’t get much knitting done today, Im hoping i’ll have enough time during uni to catch up on some knitting, I figured if I taught myself well enough to knit without looking I could knit along as I do some readings or sit in the back of lectures and inconspiciously knit:) We’ll see how that goes. However today I did something I was meaning to do for a long time, start making some terraiums since I live in a student building and don’t really have a garden all to myself.

Screen Shot 2017-07-21 at 9.34.13 pm

I can’t tell you how good it is having plants in your space, it just clears the air, gives off a positive vibe and just makes me really happy πŸ™‚ I’m glad I spent my day ‘mini gardening’ before all the study hits me next week. I already feel a lot calmer and relaxed πŸ™‚ As some of you might already have assumed, Im very much an introvert, I try to avoid being around groups of people for extended periods of time, and I don’t really enjoy shopping at all so much, Im not a hermit, I love being out in nature…by myself that is or with one close friend. I think the best way to put it is that I thoroughly enjoy the company of animals and plants more than I do people. Creating a space in your own home (dorm or house) that has a positive vibe and relaxes you is a good way to knuckle down with study instead of spending a lot of time out and about studying where there are many groups of people be at uni or at libraries.

Screen Shot 2017-07-21 at 8.54.32 pm

So this semester I intend on focusing hard on study and knitting up some more baby clothes for the shop. I’ve had a bunch of views on ‘madeit’, but no luck with sales just yet, hopefully soon but I’m not too fussed, I just don’t want to mark my prices down to the point where I might as well give it away for free. I do want to make some toys eventually, something I might start on tonight for some bed time knitting. Yesterday I went op shopping for some vintage baby knitting patterns and also picked up some old school knitting needles, I will still stick to my newer circular needles, but I do love those vintage things πŸ™‚

Anyway back to these little plants! Terrariums are a bunch of fun to make and to watch your little eco system grow is so satisfying. I live in a tropical climate with a lot of rainforest around and I loved walking rain forest trails as a kid, having a terrarium brings back that peace and happiness but in a jar/vase or what ever you choose to use for a mini jungle. All you need is some rocks, horticulture charcoal, potting mix and your chosen plants /moss (I LOVE moss!) , a spray bottle of water and you’re basically set.

I really encourage any one to get some plants in your space and see and feel the difference. Even if you do it just once, there’s plenty of low maintenance, low light plants available that would love to hang out indoors with you πŸ˜‰ You don’t need to make a terrarium, I planted a fern with a little moss around it today in a wall hanging bowl, simple enough and just as effective πŸ™‚ I can’t wait to watch it grow, ferns are just so beautiful!

Screen Shot 2017-07-21 at 8.59.29 pm

I don’t want to make this post too long, so hopefully I’ll have some more knitting projects to share with you over the next few days, and also i’ll post updates on how these plants are faring along – lets hope they stay alive:D Happy knitting all!

x

Crafty Fox

Leave a Reply

